Historical Museum of Taiping Heavenly Kingdom


The Historical Museum of Taiping Heavenly Kingdom, a branch of the Nanjing Museum Administration, is the only museum that China has set up especially for researching the history of the Taiping Heavenly Kingdom. It is also a professional research institution in China that has the largest collections of cultural relics and historical records of the kingdom.

Zhanyuan Garden, where the museum is located, is a garden in Nanjing that has the longest history. Renowned as one of the “Four Famous Gardens in Jiangnan” and the “No.1 Garden in Jinling”, the garden is a Major Historical and Cultural Site Protected at the National Level. The 24,500-square-meter garden has a construction area of 9,600 square meters and a green area of 15,500 square meters. Originally the west garden of the residence of Xu Da, King Wuning of Zhongshan of the Ming dynasty, the garden served as the office of the Jiangning Commissioner in the Qing dynasty. Emperor Qianlong stayed here on two of his southern inspection tours, and handwrote the name of the garden, “Zhanyuan”. During the Taiping Heavenly Kingdom period, the garden served as the residence of the kingdom’s East King and young West King. During the Republic of China period, it was the seat for offices of the governor of Jiangsu province, the Ministry of the Interior, and other agencies of the National Government.

Permanent exhibitions: “The Taiping Heavenly Kingdom History Exhibition”, “Ming King Wuning of Zhongshan Xu Da Historical Relics and Records Exhibition”, “Qing Jiangning Commissioner’s Office Historical Relics and Records Exhibition”, and “The Taiping Heavenly Kingdom Mural Art Gallery”. The museum holds more than 2,800 cultural objects of the Taiping Heavenly Kingdom, more than 10,000 photos of cultural relics and sites, and over 2,000 original files and letters of the Qing dynasty. Among them, the Dragon Jacket (a magua with dragon roundels), the original editions of Heavenly King-approved Imperial Examinations Regulations, Heavenly King-approved Articles Written on the Journey to Fetch Relief Troops, and Heavenly King-approved Conversion to Original of Elites printed by the Taiping Heavenly Kingdom, and a number of other rare treasures have comprehensively revealed the history of this great peasant movement.


Contact

Opening Hours:Am 8:00-17:30 | Pm17:30-20:30

Ticket Price:Am ¥30 | Pm ¥70

Address:No.128 Zhanyuan Road, Qinhuai District, Nanjing

Tel:025-52201849

Website:http://www.tptgmuseum.com

  • Murals of the Taiping Heavenly Kingdom
  • The Taiping Heavenly Kingdom History Exhibition
  • Qing Jiangning Commissioner’s Office Historical Re
  • Ming King Wuning of Zhongshan Xu Da Historical Rel

太平天国历史博物馆

太平天国历史博物馆为南京市博物总馆分支机构,是国家设立的唯一太平天国史专题博物馆,是我国收藏太平天国文物最多、史料最丰富的专业研究机构。

馆址瞻园,是南京现存历史最久的一座园林,为“江南四大名园”之一,素有“金陵第一园”的美誉,全国重点文物保护单位。全园面积24500平米,其中建筑面积9600平米,园林绿化面积15500平米。它初为明中山王徐达府邸之“西圃”,入清改做江宁布政使衙署。乾隆二次南巡时曾驻跸斯园,并御题“瞻园”匾额。太平天国时期是东王府和幼西王府。民国时期为江苏省省长公署、国民政府内政部等机构所在地。

太平天国历史博物馆常设“太平天国历史陈列”、“明中山王徐达文物史料展”、“清江宁布政使衙署文物史料展”及“太平天国壁画艺术馆”,馆藏太平天国文物2800余件;各类文物及遗址、遗迹照片10000余张;清朝原始档案、函札资料2000余卷宗。其中团龙马褂、太平天国印制的《钦定士阶条例》、《钦定军次实录》、《钦定英杰归真》原刻本等一批稀世珍品,真切、详尽而全面地反映了这场轰轰烈烈的农民运动的始末。

  • 太平天国
  • 天国壁画
  • 布政使衙
  • 明中山王
  • 联系方式

    开放时间:白天:8:00—17:30 | 夜瞻园:17:30—20:30

    门票价格:白天:30元 | 夜瞻园:70元

    地址:南京市秦淮区瞻园路128号

    电话:025-52201849

    网址:http://www.tptgmuseum.com

  • 太平天国
  • 天国壁画
  • 布政使衙
  • 明中山王